catalogue access

The Complete Book of Classical Music

By David Ewen

ISBN: 9780709038658
PUBLISHED: 01/09/1989
PAGES: 968
BINDING: Paperback
SIZE: 234x156 mm

This invaluable musical compendium contains biographies of over 100 composers, including many before the age of J.S. Bach, and an analysis of over a thousand of their compositions in all branches of music. To provide historical perspective, the composers are in chronological order, beginning with Guillaume de Machaut and ending with Richard Strauss. A critical evaluation and biography of each composer is followed by a list of his major works, presented in order of composition, with programme and analytical notes allowing the reader to trace the growth and evolution of each composer from apprenticeship to full maturity. Notes on early and lesser-known works are also included. Unusual and interesting features are the discussion of less familiar composers and the inclusion of detailed ballet and opera plots. The Complete Book of Classical Music is one of the most comprehensive single-volume reference works ever published and is now available in paperback for the first time.

Print this page

Latest Reviews
Be the first to review this book!
Your Name:
Your Email:
Your Review: